NSW Rural Fire Service Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons today recognised the achievements of veteran volunteers and celebrated the official opening of the Menai Bushfire Brigade Station. I was honoured to join Commissioner Fitzsimmons to present 41 volunteers with Long Service Medals and National Medals in recognition of their ongoing commitment to the local community.

The medal recipients have accumulated a total 924 years of service between them, with two members having dedicated more than 40 years of Service to their Brigade.

Each of the volunteers recognised today have demonstrated an exceptional level of commitment and courage to their community over the years and these medals are our proud acknowledgement of their efforts. These courageous people put their own personal safety at risk for the safety of our local community. I know they will continue to serve their local communities for many years to come and share their knowledge, experience and firefighting skills both locally and further afield.

Commissioner Fitzsimmons also congratulated the members of the Menai Brigade on the official opening of their new station. “The brigade is understandably thrilled that they now have the space to safely and comfortably move around their new station, which features multiple vehicle bays, a training room and office space. I’d also like to thank Sutherland Shire Council, which generously provided more than $550,000 towards the construction of this important community asset.”

Menai’s new Station is the latest station to be upgraded with a purpose-built facility under Council’s  RFS Fire Station upgrade program with new stations also constructed in Illawong, Loftus, Engadine, Kurnell, Heathcote, Woronora and Bundeena.Menai_Station_Opening_2015_PR (12 of 73)